Anyway, I thought I'd post the recipe because it came out amazing. I found this recipe from one of my favorite cooking blogs and just added chocolate chips, nutmeg, and cinnamon because I wanted it to taste fall-ish. It's not too banana-y and super duper moist and yummy. Not to mention its dense (which didn't stop me from eating it until i felt sick) and filling and really easy to make.
This is what you need.
Mooooshed bananas look gross. Just use a fork for this. or a meat tenderizer. I feel like every time I say 'use a fork to mash/crunch this' using a meat tenderizer is usually easier.
Mmmmm look at it cooling all yummmy in its pan. Normally when I let things cool I open the window and make it cool faster so I can eat it sooner. But A) it was raining...and no one likes soggy banana bread. and B) I wanted to eat it warm. duh.
- 2 stick of Butter
- 1 1/2 cup granulated Sugar
- 3 whole Eggs
- 4 ripe Mashed Ripe Bananas
- 4 cups Flour
- 2 teaspoons cinnamon
- 1 teaspoon fresh ground nutmeg
- 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
- 1 1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder
- 1 1/2 cup Sour Cream
- 1 1/4 (or...more) cups chocolate chips
Alright, preheat the oven to 350 degrees F, or about 800 C if you're like me and dealing with that sort of conversion. Then you're going to mix butter and sugar together and add eggs, and then your mooooshed bananas. In a separate bowl mix dry indigence. Combine dry and 'sugar butter' together and slowly add in the sour cream. Oh and don't forget to add chocolate chips. Like you could forget to add chocolate chips. Put in your pan (the original recipe says use a bunt pan, i didn't have one, it turned out fine in my deep bread pan, but needed longer in the oven), and bake for around 1 hour and 10 minutes.
Let it cool, get out the butter, and enjoy while its still warm.
Also fun fact. This is Danish baking powder and and baking soda. Took me 20 minutes staring at them to realize which was which. I felt silly.
Thanks again http://thepioneerwoman.com/ for showing me banana bread is wonderful. And thanks Mom for that giant bag of Nestle chocolate chips....and yes I do eat them alone in my room late at night.
