So Rome.
I have to start out with a big thank you to the Canadians who adopted me when we met at that awful hostel in Rome.
You guys really made my trip.
But really, I was so nervous about traveling alone and I shouldn’t have been. I met tons of awesome people—some as crazy as I am—and that is what made the bulk of my trip so great.
In fact, I wanted to get this blog entry finished up today (yes, I actually do spend more than 10 minutes on these updates....) because one of my new favorite Canadians will be in Copenhagen tomorrow! Woo woo! And, since I plan on playing tour guide all weekend, I don't see myself sitting on the internet doing this very much well, actually, I guess we'll see how much time I really want to spend with my guest, he is Canadian after all...
Interesting side note to all of my close family and friends, my only actual visitor to come to Copenhagen will be someone I met a few weeks ago. Hmmm. HMMMM. Interesting. Very interesting.
I arrived in Rome, made it to my hostel, which was full of incredibly rude employees, showers with no water pressure, toilets that didn't flush, no common room, no internet, and last but not least, bed bugs. In other words it was a barrel of monkeys....but not really. Besides the bed bugs though, I survived and had a truly lovely time in Rome.Interesting side note to all of my close family and friends, my only actual visitor to come to Copenhagen will be someone I met a few weeks ago. Hmmm. HMMMM. Interesting. Very interesting.
It is really a ridiculously magical city. Every time you turn a corner you run into something so quintessentially Italian I could die. My entire time in Rome was spent walking through Plazzas that happened to contain national monuments, wondering down tiny little streets, standing at espresso bars, eating amazing food, and licking the windows at Dior and Prada. And Italian people! Dear Lord, do Italians know how to dress. Everywhere I would look would be some stunning person dressed to the nines, wearing amazing clothes, just put together in the most beautiful, classic was possible. I didn't do any shopping the whole time I was in Italy and I'm still upset about it.
It was amazing and lovely and all other good words in the thesaurus.
I don't really know how to describe the cities I visited in better words (which is why my 'Paris' post is just a bunch of pictures of food.) But it was really an amazing experience, and I cannot wait to go back sometime. And I have to go back....because the one thing I didn't actually do was go inside the Coliseum. There was a long line, and it was hot, and people were rude, and I was really hung over, and it was really expensive. Okay people? Don't lynch mob me people, I saw the outside. I will go back and see the inside another time.
Okay, well Goose 2 is sick today, which means it is my responsibility to go to the living room and watch Garfield with her and drink hot chocolate. Conicidently, mom, that Garfeild t-shirt you gave me for my birthday found a slight more age-approprate home with Goose 2. It's her favorite sleeping shirt. And it's got English writing on it, so it's cool.
Have a lovely weekend my little lovermuchkins!
Leanderthal

