Which brings me to part of my musing tonight.
Things I Love About Denmark:
1.They play awesome movies on TV (case in point, Star Trek (okay, okay it is only the new one, but still!)). And they're not TBS playing the Mummy movies on repeat; or oh hey Pretty Woman is on O again. No good movies. Yesterday Contact was on. With Jody Foster and her amazing 90's outfits! The day before, Bridget Jones Diary. And these amazing movies are often commercial free. Yeah it's a good life.
2. Nutella. Allllll day loooong.
3.Drinking in public. Now, I understand, this is not a classy love. It's very trashy, to be clear. But lets just paint a picture with words here. You're sitting in a bar, and you're bored of the people you're with, and you're ready to go home, but you have a perfectly good bottle of beer in front of you. What do you do? Get up, walk out (um, after paying of course) and walk home with your beer. Or say its a nice hot day out and you want to have a cool drink and go for a walk to the lake with some friends, who also want to do the same. So do it! Or perhaps you're walking around exploring the city, want to have a drink, but are enjoying the view of the harbor too much to go in doors and over pay for a pint; instead you stop at little store, pick up a bottle, and carry on. OR, and I promise this will be my last example: the world championship bike races are taking place in your neighborhood, so you're havin' a fun time with the neighbors, everyone is excited, and oh hey look someone is selling beer.....I feel like these examples are not terrible examples of why drinking in public (while not entirely classy) is awesome.
4.Bike riding is a sport. Ok, so most of Europe, South America, Asia, and probs Canada think this too. But the Danes love their bikes ( my bike has now been christened Tina!). And they ride them everywhere, all day, all night, in different states of intoxication and sobriety. So it goes without saying that when the World Championship Bike Races come to town, like they did this weekend, it's kind of a big deal. Children here aspire to race bikes, much like our little tykes grow up wanting to be Tom Brady. It's for realz. I don't get it, but they love it. And for that, I love them. And Tina.
Anyway, I've got mosquitoes to slay. And you know, Star Trek is on so....i mean...we all know this wouldn't last long. Don't feel bad, not just any one can have Spock's pointy ears and lack of emotion. Theres just something about a man who doesn't cry.
Annnnnnd you missed ENCHANTED last night AND Clueless. Hollllllllerrrrrrrrrrr!!!
ReplyDelete