Friday, June 22, 2012

Firenze

So my second stop in Italy wasss.....


Also known as Florence!

Yeah, I know, I didn't know if I would ever get around to finish talking about my trip either.  But listen, I've been distracted by the many big things going on in my life....my impending move from Denmark, packing, working, watching Daily Grace youtube videos, writing other, more interesting blog posts, and finding any excuse I can not to be consistent.

But I'm back to hitting they keys for this sorry excuse at rather half assed, almost, but not really, travel blogging.  I was once motivate...what happened to that?

We (see Rome post about my lovely Canadian travel companions) arrived in Florence at 11:00 at night to find...our hostel was closed. Yup. Apparently someone (who was that??) didn't read the booking information as clearly as she should have (yeah it was me) and didn't realize that the hostel check in hours were between 9:00am and Noon. What kind of place only has a three hour time slot for check in? Italian places, that's where.

View from Piazzale Michelangelo
Luckily one of the other guests heard us frantically buzzing at the door and came down to let us up. Thank you kind stranger! The hostel itself was actually nice, it was more like a big apartment. It even had a washer and dryer, toilets that flushed most the time, and slightly more shower pressure. It also had a nice little balcony where you could dry your clothes, or be crushed by falling roof tiles. 


We spent our first full day in Florence seeing everything the city had to offer. Which honestly, took about four hours, and then we couldn't quiet figure out what to do with ourselves (um...drink).

We started out walk off at the Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore, which was absolutely stunning and ginormous.  Made out of green and pink 
marble it was totally unlike any of the other churches we'd seen thus far, and the murals on the inside were incredible.
After walking around the Basilica for a while, we walked through the tiny little 
Florence streets and passed all the crowded expensive museums and copies of the statue of David. I have a confession to make again. We didn't see the statue of David. I know, it's probably worse than the fact that I didn't go inside the collisuium.  But we only had so much time, and the lines were so long, and there were replicas of the stature right out side....so that makes it ok. And the picture at the top of this entry of David, belongs to M, who I hope doesn't get too mad at me for collageing it. You took it 'illegally' anyway! I mean...I love you, thank you!

We then walked across the 
sparkly-jewelry-store-lined Ponte Vecchio, and walked up the 702,854,599,546,568 steps to the Piazzale Michelangelo.  The  702,854,599,546,568 (this might be an exaggeration...) were  absolutely worth the stunning view we receive a few hours before sunset. It was really a wonderful day, which unfortunately, I didn't photograph very well. One of my favorite things about the city were the tiny winding streets, who's name's changed half way through, and the alters that popped up every very blocks, built into the side of buildings. Little chubby baby Jesus and flowers decorated random corner, with the holy mother, candles, and absolute quaintness. 


Naturally, we concluded our evening at a wine bar.
Which is how I think every great day should, really, end.

Amen,
Leanderthal.

No comments:

Post a Comment